Will McNicholl is entertaining with his last classical guitar number as I walk in, playing Spanish style (I hear he’s given a masterclass of guitar work during his set), yet I’ve missed most of it, and of John Llewellyn‘s thanks to being otherwise engaged with the dive club swim session.

Alice Watts has a full band with her – we previewed some of her material on last weeks show in teasing this gig tonight. Her voice is something else, Cranberries without the nasal whine, surrounding herself with friends acting as star session musicians in her band, makes it a delight to listen to. For example one track Coco has tricksy jazz drum syncopation and a good bass funk groove – very quirky yet seriously mainstream both at once.

Tim Somerfield has the graveyard slot, starting with an upbeat one that I’m unsure I’ve heard before, he slips into a funky little number called Ease; a bit of spanish guitar and some clever syncopation that I know I haven’t had the pleasure of previously listening to. Tim has an overpowering voice for this PA system, he barely needs the amplification it offers.

Apologies for no photos for this gig…

