Bit of a packed Saturday, starting with a HopeFM presenters meeting, looking at future vision and purpose for the station.  On from there to Chaplins and the Cellar Bar where an all day fundraiser was being held for the local office of Cruse Bereavement Care. As I joined some friends in the garden, got talking to Kat, about her art (in the Linchpin use of the term).

Kat was telling me about Art:us Connex, aspiring to link street performers (buskers, street theatre, comedy and the like) with businesses, councils or other organisations wishing to provide interest to an event.  Well worth blogging about, I thought, so please check them out.

The music started with an acoustic session from Si Crockett, ably joined by Si Genaro on harmonica.  As ever, Si C gave his usual energetic performance, with lots of heckling from the various members of the post-lunchtime audience.  The biggest talk was Si’s recent support for Finlay Quaye Thursday just gone – Si had a great gig by all accounts.

After a short break Si Genaro took his turn on the mic, playing a mixture of his own material (old and new) and a few inspired covers. Si is most generous on the music scene. I’ve already blogged about his abilities as a compere.

Last up for the segment I was available for was Andy Stock, this time taking the time to do a whole set, rather than the usual couple of songs I see him perform at his open mic nights. This was a selection of his own material, coupled with covers, and other songs “borrowed” from his time with other bands. The highlight for me was unfortunately being performed while I had to make my exit – Quinn’s Quinney’s take on Love Machine, on banjo…

My leave taken of, on to a 20th wedding anniversary for my long-standing friends Luke & Lizzie, with many other friends in attendance.  The reason for the early leave of the fundraiser – I needed to change into the “extravagant” costume demanded of on the invitation to the party.  Unfortunately, too many of the other party guests had chosen to opt for the “smart” portion of the invitation, so my medieval courtier appeared alongside a few other notable mentions – a reindeer, She-Ra and Skeletor.

The music was surprisingly good, from Sweaty Betty (whose last “public” outing was 8 years before, at Luke’s 40th.) This is a band just put together from others of Luke’s mates, just for Luke’s parties. Covers, but done well enough to get up and dance along to.  much dancing later, the party was over all too quickly, and a good time was had by all.

